K GO GO’s LOWDOWN: THE BRITS 2014 – Beyonce’s Classy Exit, Harry In The Toilet and Arctic Monkeys’ Third Double Win

Another big music award ceremony in ol’ Blighty has returned! With performances from the likes of Beyonce, Pharrell Williams, Bruno Mars and Katy Perry.

Now that I’ve mentioned these four MEGA heavyweights, I guess it’s best to talk about them now, so please continue reading.

Beyonce looks elegant as ever. Remember when it was rumoured/reported/claimed that she and her beau Jay-Z were own some vegan diet (you can never believe the media)? She was stunning in that all over teal sequin dress. By the time the press wanted to get a piece of the Queen B-locking-it-up (look, I’ll keep making up my words) she was gone. Poof poof!

Beyonce

Image: http://www.bbcnews.co.uk

Next up is Katy Perry. Now YOU KNOW her performances are never boring.  Conspiracies with those triangles though. Guess there are people that want to control us.

To end the night was Pharell Williams and Nile Rodgers with a ‘Get Lucky/Good Times/Happy mashup.

I know that I’m in late twenties (going to be adding another year next weekend), but I know Rodgers from Le Chick. If you don’t know this group, then get some 70s disco music on your radar.

Other mashups include Lorde/Disclosure/AlunaGeorge

One Direction took home British Global Success. All hail to the 1Directioners! Despite the boys being global success after the Beatles, they’re still five grown lovely lads as the four (Liam, Niall, Zayn and Louis) wait on Harry Styles (who was in the toilet) to collect their award. Glad that he was right on time! Well wishes to Niall who was on crutches (you know those leg stilts). Hope you get better!

Ellie Goulding took home Best Female Artist. Still remember her early days in the music scene with her first track “Starry Eyed.”

Ella Eyre journey to stardom is now taking off. Whoosh! The Brit school graduate the the luscious-curl-fro (work that hair girlfriend) received a collaborative win with Rudimental for her vocals on “Waiting All Night”. Reflecting all her past, the singer felt accomplished after attending the ceremony on a school trip. Nice way to get into the big league missy. 🙂 :). The musical-producing quartet have big plans to conquer the US. Here I go with my American-male chant AYYYYHAYYY! Loving “Powerless” guys. I see another massive hit on the horizon.

International acclaim went to Bruno Mars (International Male), Lorde (International Female) and Daft Punk (International Group). The UK has a strong love for Mars, l believe his new album ‘Unorthodox Jukebox’ must have done well here. He’s truly a talented artist, bringing the smooth-funky-jibe to a new market with modern sounds.

Bringing that funky stuff Mars (me doing my little hump dance).

You guys know my love for Daft Punk so I’m on going to repeat myself. However, I wish I could touch their helmets.

It was a double win for the Arctic Monkeys, but I wonder whether they’re even bothered of winning two gongs on the night? Judging by their acceptance speech. Who knows, I may be wrong. Oh well, you can’t blame them; they’ve won Best Group and Album three times and ‘are the first British Act to do so.’ Although, no need for the philosophical intelligent Mr Turner. I understand your intelligence but at this time right now, most of the audience don’t. Also, LET YOUR OTHER BAND MEMBERS SPEAK! You’re in a band, not solo artist (even though you have the right ego to become one).

Male Solo Artist went to David Bowie; represented by supermodel legend Kate Moss, who wore a Ziggy Stardust outfit. Bowie still got it! He was the leader of introducing costume dressing and alter-ego  in his younger years and his work is still just as good.

My salute to him still being the ‘ish’ surprisingly in this pop age ends my post.

Still, we all know who’s the biggest boy band in the world. Right?

You have something to say? Write it here! Let me know your thoughts

